Auto Insurance is required by state law in Illinois. Therefore, you will always want your vehicle to be insured so that you don’t incur criminal and civil penalties for not having insurance if you are ever pulled over or involved in a motor vehicle accident.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage and Property Damage Liability Coverage
There is a minimum legal requirement for bodily injury liability coverage in Illinois when you get insurance from someone like this. Bodily injury liability coverage will cover any injuries sustained by the other driver and their passengers in an accident. This coverage will cover you in no way.
The minimum required coverage is $25,000 per person, $50,000 total for bodily injury per accident. Property damage liability coverage is also included in this package and you must have $20,000 in coverage. When this is written out it will look like this: 25/50/20.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Illinois also requires residents to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. This means if you are ever involved in an accident with someone who is not legal by driving without the required insurance coverage your medical bills will be covered. Underinsured coverage will pay medical expenses when the other driver does not carry the required amount of insurance coverage as stated by law. The minimum legal requirement for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage will only apply to medical expenses and not property damage.
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage
Illinois auto insurance law does not require uninsured motorist property damage coverage. This will cover any damage that the uninsured motorist cannot pay for because they aren’t covered. The minimum legal requirement for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is $15,0000 with a $250 deductible that will be paid by you before coverage can begin.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Underinsured Motorist Coverage is also an optional coverage that you don’t have to get when you are buying car insurance. However, insurance carriers in Illinois are required to offer this coverage to you. The minimum requirements are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Carriers in Illinois also offer Collision coverage that is optional. This coverage will take care of repairs to your vehicle after an accident. They also offer Comprehensive coverage which will help pay for damage that is caused by anything else but a motor vehicle accident like vandalism. Medical payments is a final type of optional coverage. If you are in an accident your carrier will pay for any injuries you sustained in an accident.
You don’t want to be caught without the proper coverage in Illinois. Research your vehicle insurance options by consulting companies for quotes on the internet. You can also talk with local carriers and get quotes that will meet your budget.